U.S. Find A Grave & Errors: Luke Curran

One of the common resources used in genealogy research is findagrave.com. For the most part, findagrave.com is a helpful resource that might contain research clues. However, inaccurate information is sometimes posted by well-meaning contributors, leading researchers off in weird directions.

Some take issue with the fact that anyone – outside of family – can own the memorial. I think volunteers contribute a lot of hard work to our larger pool of genealogical knowledge that might not be covered by family.

My experience has been that when I have found something I believe is incorrect or requires annotation, I have been able to submit corrections and [documented] family relationships without any problem. I always include documentation with citations. Findagrave has always been responsive and willing to do what they can to make things right.

Case in point: Luke Curran [Curren] – the issue was the spelling of the surname. In this line of the family, the spelling Curran was the spelling of choice vs. other variants.

Luke Curran, son of Dan & Anna, retrieved from http://www.findagrave.com/cgi-bin/fg.cgi?page=gr&GRid=137610478
Luke Curran, son of Dan & Anna, retrieved from http://www.findagrave.com/cgi-bin/fg.cgi?page=gr&GRid=137610478

Here is a copy of 1870 U.S. Census that I sent along with my request for correction:

1870 U.S. Census for the Daniel & Anna Curran family
1870 U.S. Census for the Daniel & Anna Curran family

Year: 1870; Census Place: Chippewa, Wayne, Ohio; Roll: M593_1280; Page: 84A; Image: 174; Family History Library Film: 552779

In my note to findagrave.com, I stated that Daniel & Anna (Luke’s parents) have Curran on their grave stones and that Luke’s surname should also be spelled, Curran. The admins at findagrave.com were quick to reply and act upon information I submitted, and they worked with me quickly to clarify.

Many thanks to Edward Rowlance, who was the contributor for this particular findagrave memorial and my contact for correction.

Leave a Reply

