UX/UI and Ancestry.com

When the recent changes to Ancestry.com’s user interface came out of Beta, there seemed to be a great deal of wailing and gnashing of teeth in the genealogy community. While I had tried (and commented on) Ancestry’s proposed changes in the Beta stage, I now see that I defaulted to the “old look” more than I realized. Unfortunately, the realization came after the changes were implemented.

My workflow in Ancestry.com has become awkward, at best. ugh.

 

awkward

 

 

UX is all about the user experience that comes from UI (i.e., user interface, or how the thing looks). I admit to having bouts of frustration relating to efficiency, however, I’m relatively flexible with regard to this type of technological change. In fact, I really dig breaking things in Beta. That said, even I have to admit that the changes are largely annoying. Sure, some good aspects of the “new look” are nice (e.g., historical insights) but overall, I’m still annoyed.

As to the ever-expanding content on Ancestry.com, that’s a good thing. Ancestry is still a primary research tool for me and I don’t see that changing any time soon.

Leave a Reply

